Good with the Bad

I’ve come a long way from being homeless as a teenager. After a few horrible relationships, I found the love of my life. We started dating about a year into our friendship, and after 16 years of marriage, we are still best friends. We have 3 kids that we could not picture living without.

My depression started off pretty slow and steady and then felt like it hit me like a train. She has been my cornerstone. Her compliments are hard to accept, and my mind fights them. “She has to tell you that, she’s your wife!”. The same goes when friends and family try to encourage me.

Does this lie even make sense? When we believe this lie, we are essentially believing that a strangers affirmation would be more valuable. If any opinion was to be a hollow one, it would be that of a stranger. They only know the mask we wear.

I want to encourage you to try your best at rationalizing this on an intellectual level. We can’t trust our hearts, so do not worry about “feeling” it. Trust takes time. The next instance a significant other, friend, or family member compliments you – remind yourself of this:

“[person(s)] actually know and love me in all of my imperfections. I am valuable enough for them to spend their energy on, and try to help heal.” I know it’s not “that simple. Believe me, I know. It has taken me years to sometimes get to this point. I will keep going, and I hope you will too.

Those closest to you are the ones we should put every effort into trusting.

Leave a comment